State of the Union

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

And by the Union, I mean me.  Week 3 of the quarter ended yesterday, and so far I’ve been able to keep my head above water, despite taking 21 units.  People are usually shocked I’m taking so many units, and I have to admit it’s very reading heavy, but I am taking interesting classes and have 4 units that’s fully up to my creative discretion. I can’t really complain, I’m really enjoying all my classes and the work load is a lot but I’m doing my best to relish in it as long as I can.  It also doesn’t hurt that 21 is one of my lucky numbers.

For those who don’t know, I’ll be graduating two quarters early this December.  I think with a lot of big life changes, they don’t seem real. I’m not necessarily scared about my impending graduation, I’ve found that student life doesn’t really suit me, although I’m a total nerd and love learning. I feel like I’m being really thorough in my life here in Davis, from school to taking moments to enjoy my surroundings as often as possible. I don’t have a plan for life afterwards, but for once in my life I’m not entirely scared of this idea. This TedTalk made me feel better about my potential.  I am actually feeling my youth more than I have before; usually I associate myself with a granny, but in actuality I’m amazed at how much I can do, and that is actually pretty dang exciting. I’m also v blessed to have those opportunities and I don’t want to waste that.

Let’s take a sec to talk about classes, but I’ll keep it brief so my nerdiness doesn’t get too out of hand. I’m taking a history seminar on U.S. colonialism, a history class on the U.S. in the 1960s, an introductory statistics class, journalism, and my art independent study.  The two history classes are very interesting and I don’t mind the reading (which includes a book a week for my seminar). I’ve realized what it is about history I love so much; it’s extremely nostalgic, which means sometimes it’s melancholy, but I love reflecting on the past and being inspired by it. Statistics is okay, and I do enjoy finding the exact answers for math and I honestly love charts (weird I know), so I’m not hating it! Journalism is really cool so far, I think it’s the most applicable to a future career with its focus on freelance writing. I’m working on a few assignments that I’m excited to write and possibly share on the blog! And lastly, my independent study project is something I’m really excited about; I’ve collected film and images from my year abroad and I’m compiling them in a photographic book.

School aside, life doesn’t look too bad for me.  I’ve felt a lot calmer and very organized.  There’s a lot ahead of me, but my personal motto for this time in life is one step at a time.

And because I haven’t posted in weeks, enjoy the plethora of photos. Thanks for tuning in and let’s cross our fingers the next post will be sooner rather than later. As always, you can follow on Instagram, Tumblr, and Pinterest.

One thought on “State of the Union

Leave a Reply

