See ya later, Social Media

IMG_0516

You may or may not have noticed my recent absence from social media sites.  Well, people, I have deleted my Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, etc. etc. “Shock horror?! But Samantha, how will we know what is going on with you?!” Not to worry, I’ll be updating the blog regularly. And there’s email, texting, calling, Skype. People lived thousands of years without social media, they lived with just the social part. If you want to know something, ask! We don’t have to assume or judge or base opinions on what people choose to include on their social media accounts. What happened to the good old phone call? Excessive use of social media seems to be the trend in our generation, and I’m just choosing to not participate anymore.

Obviously not everyone uses it in this way, but I just personally want to cut it out of my life. To put down the phone and engage in real life. I’ve walked around without my headphones on and my phone placed permanently in my bag and noticed how many people are on their phones.  I don’t want to be that person anymore. I don’t want to care about what I look like to others in a 4×4 box or by what I post on Facebook.  Think about how many seconds that turn into minutes that turn into hours we spend looking at screens. By just removing those unnecessary forms of media, so much precious time can be used for something more engaging and useful.

I encourage you to think about your own personal use of social media. What motives you to use it? How much time do you really spend on those platforms? Does your number of followers, likes, and friends determine your happiness? Do you compare yourself to others based off their photos? Could you replace your time on social media with something else? How much does social media consume your every day life?

Just some food for thought, rant over.

2 thoughts on “See ya later, Social Media

  1. I’m cool with the whole anti social media thang but was enjoying your photos darlin’. So get back to snapping the pics. Love the hair.

    Like

Leave a Reply

